Senate Confirms Seven REC Nominees For INEC



The Senate has confirmed seven nominees on Wednesday, for the position of Resident Electoral Commissioners (RECs) of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).


Recall that President Bola Tinubu had nominated ten persons for the REC positions for a five-year term each in accordance with the provisions of Section 154(1) of the Constitution.

Earlier, Senate President Godswill Akpabio had ready Tinubu’s letter requesting legislative confirmation for the nominees during Wednesday’s plenary.

Those screened and confirmed by the Senators are;

Etekamba Umoren

Isah Ehimeakhe

Oluwatoyin Babalola

Abubakar Maaji

Shehu Wahab

Aminu Idris

Mohammed Abubakar Sadiq


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.